SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The stated argument falls apart due to the lack of evidence to back certain claims and the assumptions discussed below.

The author claims that the recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that it is a better place to live than Middlesburg. However, this recent increase in the number of homeowners can be due to an increase in population resulting in the demand for more accommodation. Nowhere is it stated (with backing evidence) that the homeowners in Corporateville moved there from Middlesburg because they were unhappy with there living conditions. Therefore, the living conditions of the homeowners of those two places cannot be compared.

Then the author proceeds to state the results an employee survey to back the claim that the employees prefer to live in an area that is not urban. However, information regarding the survey itself - such as sample size - is not mentioned. If only 50% of the employees took part in the survey then the results of the survey are not indicative of the opinions and feelings of the entire employee base.

Finally, lower taxes in Middlesburg might mean that it is a cheaper area to live as compared to Corporateville, but it is in no way an argument that can be used to conclude that it is also a safer place to live which the author assumes.

Stronger evidence such as the reason behind the surge of homeowners in Middlesburg, details regarding the employee survey conducted by SuperCorp and more information regarding how safe Middlesburg really is will help strengthen the author's argument.

In conclusion, due lack of information and backing evidence, it cannot be stated without uncertainty that SuperCorp's decision to move it's headquarters to Middlesburg was the best decision.