People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Within the two systems of thinking that are permanently applied by people, the emotional one responds for temporary desires and cannot account the long-term effects. This claim supports the viewpoint that the decision-making which is based on emotional patterns is less efficient than a complex reasoning process. Personally, I posit that people have to beware emotional decision making, though in critical situations they should be able to produce fast solutions.

Primarily, impulsive decision-making endangers the final result of a project or work. Further justification of a decision accepted in a hasty manner will certainly be poor and lacking supportive arguments. To illustrate that, one may consider the reasons of mortgage market boom in 2007-2008s. It was not a secret that the market exploded because of unreasonable demand for fast mortgage credit. The managers of the investment banks, such as Morgan&Stanley and Deutsche Bank, manipulated the securities without deep consideration. The scope further financial crisis serves as the evidence of impulsive decision-making.

The next reason for conscious acceptance of decision is that it helps to optimize the resources. When a plan is thought through enough, a team can distribute the capital needed for its implementation appropriately. For example, I worked with the international students on launching a venture in social entrepreneurship. Before opening the company, we had to make a business plan with cost distribution scheme. With a precise definition of the cost of materials, we managed to prove to investors that all the invested money would be spent efficiently. In this way, it is crucial to present the logical argumentation of a deal, and only in the last turn to rely on emotions.

On the contrary to presented reasons, fast thinking is necessary when a situation os critical and needs a quick solution. For example, when my mother was about to give a birth to my brother, she relied on her emotions and told my father to bring her to the hospital. The deep reasoning was inappropriate in that situation because it would damage the health of a baby. My father made a decision to drive my mom to the hospital quickly, and the doctors managed to help he bear a child. Thus, in critical cases, a person should accept the decisions without hesitation, while the overall point about the importance of reasoning remains clear.

To conclude, before making a decision, a person needs to back it up with logical arguments. The opposite approach will undermine the total outcome of a deal and cause disaster. Despite that, when there is no time for profound argumentation, it is necessary to accept a decision quickly and in accordance with the best possible outcome.