City A wanted to reduce the number of accidents in its highway. It reduced the speed limit from 55 to 45.but accidents did not decrease. 5 years ago city B introduced measures such as, widening of roads, better signs etc and it has reduced the number of accidents reported. Therefore city A must also follow the same

The argument presented lacks supportive information and, therefore, is logically unsound. The weak points of the statement lie in the deficiency of conditions intrinsic to the described highway. Such circumstances as local weather, road infrastructure and relevance of police control should be carefully examined before making a conclusion about the ways of reduction of accidents in the highway.

First of all, the argument does not distinguish between the climate in city B and the one in city A. This fault makes the statement weak because the policies which were successful in city B may not lead to the expected result in the city A. For instance, if the weather in the highway of city A is mostly rainy, the widening of roads may only impair the situation. Because of gliding, the cars will bump into each other more often. For this reason, it would be relevant to investigate the climate in city A and align with it the policy of road management.

The second weakness of the arguments is that it fails to mention the quality of the road in the highway of city A. If it is worse than in city B, the better signs will not solve the problem. Transport vehicles in the highway of city A may slow down to skip the car, while that car does not expect it and does not decrease the speed. When this case happens on the road with stones, the car accident will be unavoidable. To illustrate the analogous situation, the authorities of my local town saved money for renewal of town roads and instead purchased new road signs. As a result, these signs were useless because the car drivers could not drive on the broken road.

The last weak point of the claim is that the official reduction of speed limit does not definitely mean that the drivers will follow it. The argument does not mention whether there were police responsible for control of speed in the highway in city A. Consequently, the drivers could disobey the established rule and drive at the same speed. The fact that the number of accidents did not decrease does not mean that the new rule about speed limit was inefficient. It could be if there were a control over the speed limit of drivers in the highway. Consequently, to make the argument sound and justify the new rule, city A has to increase the number of police stations along the highway and reinforce a strict monitoring over the speed on highway road.

In the final analysis, the presented argument seems to be unconvincing because it fails to mention the weather, road infrastructure and intensity of police control of the roads in city A. To make the statement logically sound, the authorities of city A have to adapt road policy in highway to the local weather, verify the quality of roads and introduce more police stations along the highway.