People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The statement linking decision making negatively on the basis of emotions can be justified by viewing recent human experiences. One needs to only take a look at the recent news to see that decisions based on emotions are inchoate and not well thought out.

The statement attempts to bridge the relationship between decisions and emotion by assuming that emotions tend to negatively influence the decision maker. This assumption is justified. Logic should be the primary pillar on which all decisions should be taken. Logic provides a comprehensive framework to make prudent decisions.

Logic should be used for all human decisions, both big and small. While selecting what to consume for breakfast, factors such as nutrients, carbohydrates, protein and so on should be considered rather than emotions because emotions are short-lived and tend to change over time. Logic and analytical reasoning, on the other hand, pass the test of time and is not fleeting or transient.

Decisions made on the basis of emotions in the past have greatly hindered development as a whole. Common afflictions hampering human growth are a result of choosing emotions over logic. War, racism, sexism and other prejudices are a result of emotions overpowering logic and prudence. People are able to make biases only because of their emotions. If this disparity in thought did not exist, the thought of treating males and females differently would also not exist. Similarly, it is because of emotions that the aboriginals in countries like Australia and Canada were treated badly. If these natives were simply treated as humans, then they would not be discriminated against.

Fields which directly and greatly impact humans such as medicine, law and public policy have been able to make the strides that they have only because of great thinkers of each generation. These brilliant minds were able to exhume emotions from their thoughts thereby making decisions free of bias. These decisions were equitable and reduced disparity. Effective medical treatments don't treat humans differently.

In conclusion, while human beings are unique amongst animals in that they can perceive emotions, emotions should not be the basis of decision-making. Emotions tend to clog rational behaviour and are not a fair basis for taking decisions as different humans get affected by emotions differently.