People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The speaker asserts that the people who make decisions keeping the fact of emotions in mind rather than being cerebral and later justifies the same using logical arguments and facts are poor decision makers. While I certainly agree with the speaker with these, I still believe there can be several instances where the decision taken by being more emotional-oriented is much necessary rather than being completely actual and cerebral.

"A wise man is known as per his wits and acuteness in making quick decisions and judgement." This statement is truly said. And to support a judgement or a decision one has to have strong logic and reason for corroborating the same. For instance, a chemical company known for its innovation in the chemical field is all set to release a new product which can enhance the productivity of crops in countries like in Africa by threefold or more. But the repercussions involved may be like side effects due to improper usage which may affect the marine life in the nearby ponds or lakes. It may be true that if the company does not release the product at the very end by being more emotionally inclined towards aquatic life than the poor and malnourished children in Africa and later cited the reason of company's policy towards better eco-system then the company has not been proper shrewd in making smart decision. What good will be the environment if there is no healthier life to live into?

Similarly, a philanthropist looking towards promoting education open a varsity for poor children free of cost. He then cited the reason of the importance of education in the enhancement of humanity and towards the making of better world but later found himself unable to repay the bank loan he took to open the same varsity. Though he thought of the betterment of children, keeping emotions and considerable sentiments, is the decision he took a wise one? What education can be given to those children if there will be no school?

But many a times it may happen, that the decision should be based on more of emotions rather than being intellectual. May be the logic and reasons not present at the time of making decisions but later in life or after some time, it strikes the person. For instance, a very eminent pharmaceutical company is all set in releasing the cure of malicious disease like AIDS. It is apparent that many people in the world like in poor countries in Africa and other developing countries may not afford the cure since the company has all possibility and in fact, right to enjoy the monopoly. If the company is really looking forward towards the eradication of AIDS, it should also look forward towards reaching as much people possible looking for its cost no matter how much compromise it has to make with the product. This logic and reasoning may not appear at the time but later, if the company or the stakeholders involved cite the very same, the emotional judgement, embraced by the reason later is still shrewd and smart.

Therefore, it is not completely true for the speaker to predicate that those people justifying their decisions some time later after making a decision with more emotionally inclined are poor decision makers. In fact, it depends on the convulation of the matter involved which may or may not be visible at the time.