People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Emotions and logic are two sides of the same human decision making coin. While emotions rely on one's mood, sentimentality or nature, logic rests on one's conscious thought process and ability to develop and present comprehensible arguments. While actions committed based on either of the two facets of our human characteristic can have negative repercussions, often decisions made based on emotion alone are followed by a cycle of trying to justify them with logic.

I recall a simple exam that my Aunt gave of a very harrowing life decision she made at the end of her graduate studies here in the U.S. Being a gregarious person and very close to her family, she recalled vacillating between the choices of either taking a very credible internship at a sales company in New York or immediately starting full time work at an equally reputable company in New Jersey. Strongly desiring a perpetual connection with her family, staying close to her husband, enjoy her social life compounded by the alluring job offer to work full-time swayed her away from the internship. Even though, she found her stepping stones into becoming a successful and highly ranked employee at her current company, she lost out in clinching the very seminal citizenship status as a foreign worker here in America: the Green Card holder. 10 years later, her Green Card is still being processed, something that would have taken almost half the time had she pursued the path less tread upon. Furthermore, she ended up leaving the full-time job after only one year because how dissatisfied she was with her work environment. She recalls defending her decision as a smart first-step towards self-realization and getting more competitive offers from even more renowned companies in the future. Further, she argued that a job would be more stable and would further alleviate her family's concern about long-term financial security. In actuality, however, she was swayed more by the social and emotional comfort she was in her life then. Keen on challenging herself and being fully aware of would give her a holistic set of benefits, in addition to a work experience and income, she still chose the option that would not do her well one, two or even 10 years down the line.

She even extended the degree of her regret by including the instance of her younger sister who could not secure a loan from an American bank because she did not have a Green Card holder to co-sign for her.

Emotions are indeed a necessary part of forming a person's personality, and to some degree make conscientious decisions. However, if we let emotions take the steering wheel on major life decisions, they end up shoving aside our long-term goals