People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Good decision making is one of the very important characteristics that should be present in a rational person. The prompt states that those people who make a decision based on their emotions followed by covering up the decision by logic are bad decision-makers. In my opinion, I strongly agree with it because of the following two reasons:

First of all, making a decision with emotion can lead to rash decision making. For example, in January 2018, prime minister of Srilanka went on to make a very poor decision by taking violent action against the civilians who were protesting against the new policy, the government had started. The prime minister later tried to cloak his action by saying that the situation was out of control and the action which was taken against the protest was the only option available to appease the situation. However, his hasty decision of the prime minister and the justification he tried to provide only exacerbated the situation. Thus, it is very important that the decision is taken by logically and not by emotion as it can lead to a poor decision.

Second of all, decision-based on emotion can lead to biased decision making. For example, last winter, the board of director meeting was set up against the three students of our college who were involved in the gang fight inside the college premise. As one of the directors was the father of one of the culprits. It was seen after the meeting came out that his son was given the least punishment as compared to the other students. It can be clearly seen that the director made a prejudiced decision as his son was the one who started the fight. The college management committee later took action against the director and immediately suspended him from his post for one month. Thus, if the director had not made the decision based on his emotion and had treated all the students equally, he would not have suffered at the end.

In conclusion, some people might say that decision based on emotion can lead to some good decision as well. However, I completely disagree with such belief as think that people who make decisions based on logic are good decision-makers.