People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decision-making process involves many aspects. Broadly speaking, I think that major emphasis should be given to the logical reasoning behind a particular decision. There must be at least some essential logical thought to any decision one makes.

Emotions are defined by one's state of mind. They are rather ephemeral and impulsive, most of the time. Moreover, they are quite mercurial and thus, not a firm factor to be considered while making a decision. For example, if a person, having a hard time with life, were to depend on his emotions for making a decision, it would very well have a negative effect on the quality of his decision. Therefore, decisions made focusing on an emotional aspect may turn out to be poor decisions.

At the same time, Decisions one makes should be backed by firm logic. It is solely logic, which, unlike emotions, is concrete and perpetual. Consider a student's decision on whether to pursue his graduate degree in his hometown or a distant city. If he logically thinks about the merits and demerits of both alternatives and makes a decision in a pragmatic way, his decision would be more optimum than one who would think emotionally and decide accordingly. Thus, a decision based on logic will be benefited in the long run.

Regardless of however important logical thought may be, there are some scenarios in which an emotional aspect should be brought into focus. Situations which involve more sensitive factors, should be considered emotionally as well.For example, consider decision involving a family issue. I such scenarios, mere logic won't suffice. One has to think adhering to emotions as we, humans, are living (emotional) beings. So, in some logic must go hand in hand with emotions so as to make the best possible decision.

Considering two vital aspects in decision-making, I would conclude that, decisions, of whichever sort they may be, must be primarily based on logical reasoning. Those people who don't induce logic, make emotion-based decisions, end up with poor decisions in most cases. Therefore, even decisions demanding emotional attention, should be based on an underlying logical thought process corroborated with essential emotional perspective.