People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

The statement says that people’s behavior is dependent on the forces around them rather than their own thoughts. This statement indeed true and we all are definitely influenced by the circumstances around us. However, there is a slight difference on how we base our choices in a situation is given below.

Firstly, from the time we are born, we learn and grow up by the different circumstances that led our life. As an infant we don’t know how to make a decision and it is definitely based on the parent choice. With their help we learn and develop. As an adult, a person choice may still be according to the forces around him. For example, a person might undertake a job after 18 years if his family is poor and cannot afford studies. In situations like this the forces around him/her determine the decision they make.

However, if we look deeper in to the topic then there raises a point called “wrongdoing”. In our world today, may crimes take place either small or big. They often start in a commonplace where he or she may not have a criminal background. Yet, some people go against the law even though they are not influenced by the forces around them and make their own choice. This is one example where a person is not completely influenced by the forces and yet makes bad decisions.

If we take an individual’s career in to consideration. He or she is pushed by different forces around, however, they might take a decision of their own choice as they have the discretion after reaching a certain age. Indeed, making an own decision is a person’s choice and they will always have that option. For example, we wouldn’t have great scientists like Galileo galilei who in spite of coming from different background, did not let them affect his decision making. However, many a times people are drawn away by the forces around them.

To sum, yes, people choices are determined from by forces than to their own making. However, an individual may make different choices by his own gumption as mentioned above.