People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is contentious about the inquisition that whether people's behavior is based on exterior forces instead of interior ones. While different theories were drawn by scientists and there is less likely to be any persuasive conclusion, I believe that people's behavior is decided jointly by external forces as well as their willingness.

First and foremost, a person cannot decide about their birth place and the culture under which they are bred. Thus, some kind of behaviors related to certain cultures should be decided by their living environments. For example, eating with chopsticks is common in China but rare in western countries. Because people around the world have different eating habits and different kinds of foods that partly restricted by the natural and geological environment of their settlement. People cannot choose their racial, appearance, voice and gender etc. In a word, it is indisputable that there are external forces that restrain us from become totally free and doing things arbitrarily. Even the almighty gods depicted in various myths have their boundedness.

On the other hand, behaviors germane to personal preferences like what movie to watch, or what kinds of music to listen, can be largely decided by people's own making. Especially in modern societies where democracy and free will are advocated and respected, it is hardly the case that a person will be abused or punished for choosing something he/she like. From this perspective, the claim is totally overstated. I concede that during the history there were times that external forces, for example, from rulers were exerted on people were fierce and even merciless. But that is why the tyranny was overthrown by reforms and revolutions in the end.

There are insurmountable limits for human beings, such as physical limits like being underwater for too long or flying to the sky like a bird. But that is why people build submarine and airplanes to achieve these goals. In my view, the endeavor to challenge our limits is appreciable and the most meaningful thing in our lives. At the same time, free will should be preserved and respected, for people to make choices based on their willingness and live a life in which they can orientate themselves.

All in all, people's behavior is determined by both exterior forces and interior willingness. Otherwise, if exterior forces steer the whole process, no one would be willing to try hard to achieve their dreams, to make any differences or even to love the life he/she live. And we have also to admit that there are obstacles for some cases that people cannot surpass due to the limit of human beings.