Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Where should the government budgets spend is never a easy decision to make, especially during depression periods when there are budget shortfalls, rising unemployment, and escalating needs for public assistance. While governments are wrestling with theses immediate pressures, several tenets such as transparency, equity, and accountability, have to be counted seriously to ensure that government funding are effectively issued. From my viewpoint, whether government funding for arts should be suspended in front of immediate pressures depends on whether the funding follows the tenets and if there will be any benefit produces for the citizens.

First and foremost, in order to promise an equity investment, the government should not have any discriminations for different fields. It would be extreme to totally suspend the funding for arts, for the reasons that artists are members of citizens and have to be treated disinterestedly. If government funding for arts was canceled, it could be hard for artists to make a living, which would result in a decrease in the average living standards in the nation. Actually, artists would need more help from the government in difficult times, because their profession is less profitable compared to other industries such as a commodity production industry. During an economical crisis, when people are hungry and unemployed, they are less likely to spend their dollars on any artwork, or to go to an art exhibition, which cannot satiate their physical needs. Thus, without the assistance from the government, the circumstances for artists will be desperate.

Moreover, investments in arts dose not make the artists being the only beneficiaries. Arts lists our spirits, help us exploring our inner world and gaining distinctive feelings. People need arts to understand better about humanity, or lives become dull and loss its meanings. Plus, Arts can also serve as documentation for cultures through out the history, people can learn from historical artworks about our ancestors and the lessons they left for us. For example, paintings found from ancient sites helps scholars learn about the life styles of the people lived there, such as their dressing, foods, and religious activities. In other words, arts advances our society by providing heritage from our ancestors and help people understand the complexity of humanity.

Admittedly, people's need for arts wanes in front of physical needs like eating, sleeping or other indispensable activities, however, if the situation is severe to the extent that there is not enough food supply to feed the population, then any kind of financial support would be futile except directly providing provision to every household. Otherwise, supporting the arts could be a measure to stimulates the economy and help the increase in GDP. For example, various job opportunities can be created, such as curators, exhibition planners, ticket sellers, etc. Besides, the capital spent temporarily on a project could be repaid by later revenues from it. For example, an excellent film could be faced with shortage of funding at the production phase, however, once it was released and loved by the audience, the box office could help make huge revenues.

On balance, the government should allocate funding judiciously, regardless whether the invested projects are serving the basic needs, but according to the functionality and the provisioned benefit. Funding for arts is in my view necessary if not exceeded the appropriate amount of capitals. Because art is indispensable for us as well as can contribute to economic development.