“The powerful are most respected not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.”

Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on the statement above. In writing your essay, you

should consider both when the statement may be true and when it may be false.

Do people respect the powerful when they wield their power, or is it merely out of fear? History has ample examples of powerful people who have been truly revered by public and those who garnered respect solely out of fear. I believe that the common respect the elite when the elite refrains from using his/her power irresponsibly. Here, I am interpreting ‘refrain from exercising power’ as ‘refrain from exercising power for personal greed’.

Take the example of Mahatma Gandhi, the Indian leader who used non-violent methods to help India gain her independence from the Great Britain. He was held in high esteem by the Indian public. He was also one of the most revered member of the Indian National Congress, the organisation that was instrumental in Indian independence. However, he rarely used his fame to meet selfish ends. He was a very humble being. However, there were instances when he used his power irresponsibly. For instance, when Sardar Patel won the election of the first prime minister of India, held within the Congress itself, Gandhi went on hunger strike because he favoured Jawaharlal Nehru over Patel. Ultimately, Nehru was elected as the prime minister due to Gandhi’s resistance. Gandhi was, and is still, criticised for this move by the Indian people. This shows that the powerful are respected only when they use their power responsibly.

We can also see many such examples in the business world. The Tatas, one of India’s biggest businessmen, carry out their business operations very ethically. They also have a very efficiently functioning Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) department which helps thousands of people annually. Due to their ethics and responsible approach to public relations, the Tatas are respected by most of the Indians. In fact, they also enjoy significant respect worldwide. On the other hand, business families like Ambanis and Adanis, who have on many occasions used their closeness to the dignitaries in the Indian government for personal benefits, are looked down upon by the public. This reiterates the fact that the elite who use power for personal motives are not respected by people.

However, there have been certain powerful personalities, like Adolf Hitler of Germany and Kim Jong-un of North Korea, who have wielded power recklessly, but still are respected in their respective countries. However, this respect is borne just out of fear. For example, laws in North Korea are very strict and slight opposition to the government could lead to a death penalty. Thus, people fear, not respect, such leaders.

Clearly, only the powerful people who refrain from using power irresponsibly, like Gandhi and the Tatas, are revered by the people. On the other hand, tycoons like Ambanis and dictators like Hitler, are just looked down upon.