People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.”

Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on the statement above. In writing your essay, you should consider both when the statement may be true and when it may be false.

Respect is the act of holding a person, post or institution in high esteem or with deference while a power is the ability to carry out a set of activities restricted from the general in a particular setting. Some would argue that people most respect the powerful when the refrain from exercising power, but others would argue that people actually respect the powerful when they wield and exercise such power. Respect actually goes hand in hand with fear.

Consider, the case of the government of Nigeria. The populace respect an average police man because of the way. Many parents wish their sons should join the police force as a result of this. when the rate of cybercrime increased in at the coming of the 21st century. The government proposed the new cybercrime bill and it was passed into law. Suprisingly, the rate of cybercrime witnessed a mild increase, as more people became aware of this, no thanks to the pervasive messages of entertainers that wrote sons about it. But with the actual and rather tough enforcement of these law by the policemen, that the government witnessed a decrease in the crime. This was also catalysed by the frequent coverage of arrests by the state owned National Television Authority (NTA).

Let also look at the story of Moses in the bible, Isrealites, albeit not all of them respects him as a prophet. Still, there was a very large fraction of unbelievers amongst them regardless of the various miracles he performed which they witnessed. It was not until they were afflicted by the epidemic that almost ruined their cities that they turned towards God in repentance as told in both the Holy Quran and Bible.

The people that argue that people most respect the powerful when the refrain from exercising power might cite as example the case of parents warning their children several times before punishing them which still causes change in the said children But the fear of the consequences is actually the cause of the childs turn not her silent responses to bad acts carried out by the child.

In conclusion, as evidenced in the case of the Nigerian fight against cyber crime and the story of Isrealites in the bible. In both cases, they had tacit respects of their the former, the policemen and the latter, God. People actually respect the powerful not only by wielding their power but buy exercising such powers.