The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment

The real talent of a popular musician cannot be accessed until the musician has been dead for for several years, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment. This particular statement might be true for some cases, But in recent era this statement does not holds good. Take an example of any good musician there is lets say Fredurer mercury, Eminem, Twenty one Pilot or Arijit Singh(Considered one of the best singer in India), All of these musicians have huge fan following, And whatever they compose or produce, public love them, appreciates their work. And one good point here All of them are alive (Except Fredurer Mercury - best singer of his era, while he was alive). So, I disagree with the statement made above, atleast in respect to this new era - Era of Social media, Live Concerts, Live Broadcastings and all sort of digital media platforms.

Now lets look at some of the scenarios where this statement could have hold strong ground. In the era when digital media, live concerts, live broadcasting, social media was not so popular among the common public as it is today, musicians or any other sort of artists have to struggle a lot to get their work reach to the common public, so that they can appreciate the work (if they like it). It was hard to get appreciation for good work in those times.

I will present one example in suport of the above point I have made (neccessity of digital media to get the musicican famous): On Youtube its evedent that it is easy to get more number of views and likes on the recent good work done by some of the good musicians as compare to the good work which is done long time before and now uploaded to Youtube. So, we see that its not about wether the musician is dead or alive, it is about how fast and conviniently the work will reach to the public's doorstep as soon as it is realeased.

Hence reach to the common public is as important as work being good, to get the musician famous.