The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Music- one of the elements that brings greater joy to life. Music is something that can be a partner you in your cheerful times, uplift you in your sad hours and even just keeps you accompanied whenever you feel like it. Musicians are people creating these beautiful melodies to keep us enamored. The prompt suggests that the real popularity cannot be tested unless the musician is dead for quite a long time and their "not being there" can infer to an unbiased judgement. To my opinion, this is not the case in most times. Either alive or dead, a person who can really connect to people will likely to have about the same level of appreciation.

To begin, creative tasks such as writing or making music or painting- these things require a certain ability of a person. Obviously, no one is equally creative. There is difference in the levels of creativity that people can achieve. Now, the people those have higher grasp on these subject-matters are likely to be higher than the mediocre people- in respect to innovation in the artistic fields. So, when we are talking about some musician or painter, it is an inherent assumption that the person is more talented than most people in this area. And talents are always appreciated whether the person is alive or dead, that too with other factors aside. For instance, Elvis Prisley- the king of pop music, had a real talent in creating some of the most iconoic songs in history. Now, although he might have some issues regarding his personal life, people loved him anyway. He reached the peak of his career very early and he truly was the king based on how people reacted to his music, even to this day. So, this illustrates that if people, to be specific, musicians, they have real talents and can touch the peoples' heart, people will bestow them with unbiased love.

Moreover, It is not the case that, a musician needs to produce constant hits to make himself a memorable person in the eye of people. There just needs to be something that can reach the people, even if it is just one song. For example, Michael Jackson produced numerous hits in his life time, making us all dance to the grooves. He created a sound completely of his own and people went crazy over him. Iconic singer Prince can be named. We can name Beatles. These are the bands or people, they have given us quality hits over the years. But when bands or singers like Blue or Daniel Powter comes up, it is usually for "that one song" they made. They have other works, sure, but that one song that made people realize how good they are, will always come on top whenever we mention their names. For instance, the first google search on their names provides the name of the work they are most notorious for. So, do people not care about them? They sure do and they are not dead yet.

Of course, people will say, in recent times, popularity is based on exposure. The more "views" someone has, the more popular she is. Is it not just proving the point here? If there were no real music or talent involved, people will not have appreciated them. Like in the case of many musicians, they were celebrated in their lifetime and they are still in the hearts of people. This has very little to do with them being gone and people being sad and sympathetic by this fact. Real talent is always appreciated.