Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.

An educated person might be a skillful person having an elaborate viewpoint on modern society's issues. Some might agree that students should as many courses outside of major study as they can. However, I mostly disagree that students should take a plethora of academic classes other than their major fields of study.

First, pupils need to cover their major fields of study predominantly. As university students choose their field when they enter the college, students may have expected that they can be an expert in that field. To be a virtuoso in one field, students have to learn not only the textbook's knowledge, but also the implicit ability devoid in the textbook. Studying their major area already requires a lot of time and energy for pupils. For example, college students majoring in Architecture have to cover almost two hundred credits to graduate for over five years in Korea. There are immeasurable seminars and meetings as well to participate in. Unless these students could achieve the provided pathways enough, they would fail to be an architect. It is nonsense to one who failed in one's major as an educated person.

Second, even though one university can provide diverse courses, it does not have to be coercive. As a university is an ivory tower for raising intelligent people, it should give students various options. This can be a disjunction between secondary schools' and university curriculum. Most of the secondary schools do not allow students to organize their timetables on their own. It is because there are prerequisites to complete secondary education. This is why most students fail in Physics, but they have to retake the class to pass. However, when entering college, pupils not only choose their majors but also do make their timetable comparatively freely. If one student wants to take a variety of courses other than one's major field, one will definitely do so.

Moreover, students can fulfill their wanting outside of school with the help of the university. When students need knowledge apart from their major field, student personally chooses their career path. To be specific, many universities provide numerous opportunities for students, such as international exchange students, summer internships, and volunteering services. In the case of Google, it recruits college students to provide them with work experiences in Engineering. Likewise, Harvard University and IBM mutually make contracts for students to go through the job field.

In conclusion, college students can undoubtedly deal with diverse subjects and themes by taking non-major courses. However, it is first to complete one's studies and then to choose one's career path to pupils through or not through the college.