Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated

Education plays an important role in ones life. Many students tend to do a lot of research and select their majors carefully as major firld in the university will shape their future. The prompt states that university students ought to choose variety of courses outside their major fields to become truly educated. However, this is a bit complicated to say that courses other than the major is the best way to be truly educated. Considering this approach as the best way is a wrong method to analyze a student’s education.

Courses outside the major field will only provide knowledge in other fields, that cannot be termed as being truly educated. For example, if a student chose computer science as his major and biotechnology as his elective, this can only provide information regarding the elements included in the biotechnology rather than saying that the individual is truly educated

An individual is said to be truly educated, only if he applies the techniques which he learned in his everyday life. For instance, if a student takes history as his major field of study and chooses many other fields but not mathematics or any languages. He will not be able to do basic calculations necessary for his day to day life and will not be able to communicate his ideas effectively. Minimal education is necessary to survive in today’s world.

Courses that are outside the majors can be useful if they want to shift their focus in the future. For example, a person who studies both computer science and mechanical can use his knowledge from both the fields which will help in building various automation programs like the student can build a chatbot by training a bot

To conclude, education cannot be termed only based on the courses taken by a student. Rather, an individual is said to be truly educated when he/she applies all the values and the knowledge in the real life.