Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

As it is mentioned Scandals are useful to bring things into the focus in ways which no speaker or reformer ever could. I agree to the author’s statement to some extent. I support the original idea of a scandal. What is the meaning of scandal? Scandals bring a side of the story which all the parties are trying to hide from the public. A side which everyone is being evasive and are wary to talk about. Scandals brings that truth in light in turns helping the public to judge more fairly.

This brings me to the first definition of Scandal, an act which, done by a person with authority/power, is immoral and wrong. The journalists from Media outlets, Regular people who reports these wrongdoings with proof are trying to bring a new information for the people to consider. If used in a correct way scandals are a boon to the country’s social system. Its something which keeps the officials, celebrities, public figures in check and wary of anything immoral. It keeps their moral compass straight. For example, the first sting operation which happened in India leaked the footage of high government official taking large sum of bribes to pass a government tender. That was a start of a revolution which got attention of every person and everyone wanted the wrong doing corrected. This is a kind of affect a series of change which a scandal can bring to the society/ Country.

On the other hand, the scandals in the wrong hand is just a tool for playing with the thoughts of people, clouding the judgement of the viewers/ Readers. That brings me to the second definition of the scandal, A gossip or a Rumor. Nowadays we can see scandals coming out left and right, Scandals about government official taking bribes, saying something disheartening, celebrities’ scandals, even scandals of the regular joe saying something bad about someone. Are these all justify to e called scandals.

How convenient is it that suddenly out of nowhere a scandal about a politician’s past or something he said to a confidant coming out right now when he is trying to compete for an office? A scandal of a celebrity coming about his/her sex life or a affair with another person right at the moment when a new big movie coming out for the celebrity. These examples point to one direction that how media or people using the media trying artifice minds of people. It does not matter to them if the scandal information is true or not but now, they have biased the opinion of the people for/against the person in light. The real meaning of scandal to bring out something which will help to make the life of people better seems to be lost.

So many scandals popping up everyday makes you wonder if so, many things are wrong then as the scandals comes out there must be something done to compensate for the inconvenience people had, but no changes are made once the heat of the scandals cools off there is another scandal. Media outlets are so eagerly looking for scandals and sensationalize the news that no body cares to follow up on those scandals and what happened once it was reported. There is blame also goes to the viewers like us who are looking for something trendy something people enjoy talking about and that’s what media is utilizing.

I believe the scandals are good like I have mentioned a boon to the good of the society and the citizens. This helps people to feel empowered that they are the ones for which everyone works not the other way around, but lately it has become a sore to the society and we are enjoying it. We have given up the power and enjoying the sour fruit.