‘’Schools should be responsible only for teaching academics skills and not for teaching ethical and social values’’

This subject poses the debatable question of whether or not schools should teach ethical and social values. Indubitably, teaching ethical and social values could add a lot of burden on the existing curriculum. Nevertheless, it is essential for students to learn social values as they have to live in a society, lacking such values may affect their reputation and their decision making. Therefore, I generally with the opinion that schools should not teach students about ethical and social values and would argue that it is important for the schools to teach such values.

Firstly, ethical and social values are essential in one’s life. Hence, it must be taught in school Reading, mathematics and other important subjects are being taught in school so it can make sure that the students are doing good in the society. Science, math… Etc are considered important, then why not values? Values are also as important as these subjects. When values are not taught, people can become criminals, convicts…etc. Should we encourage schools not teaching values? No, right.

Secondly, All the schools are teaching values to their students indirectly, like encouraging them not to cheat, bully and talk in class. We all are aware of these values, then why can’t schools teach values directly? When people are taught values from the very beginning, it is highly probable for them to follow them. Learning ethical and social values in such tender age will surely guide students in the right path.

Finally, we know that teachers are quite professional and can teach very efficiently, then teaching values in schools will make much more sense. To live in a society, one must posses ethical and social values. Thus, if schools teach these values, we can be confident that students will come to become good people and we need not worry much about their decision making.

In conclusion, although it is a parent’s role to teach values, we cannot always rely on them as sometimes they tend to fail demonstrate such values. It is also possible that some parents do not posses’ good values and who surely knows if their kids live with them or not. Moreover, sometimes teachers may impose their own values on students, which may or may not be credible. Teaching values may add burden on the existing tight curriculum as teachers will have to teach more in less time. But, the pros against the statement outweigh the pros in favour of the statement. Therefore, in my opinion, schools should be responsible for teaching both academic skills and social and ethical values.