Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society s problems

From time immemorial, humans have built devices to make their lives easier. From the early men building spears to hunt and defend themselves to building artificial intelligence applications; technology has greatly improved but so has societal problems been more dexterous. Our lives will continue to get better as science and technology continues to develop, but all society's problem cannot be eradicated; especially those arising from man's greed and self-centredness.

Science and technology has no doubt made live so much better. In the 19th century, malaria was a death sentence. It will take days to travel from Europe to Africa, as the only route was through the sea. We could only communicate with our loved ones far away through letters and many of the comfort we enjoy today as a result of the rapid development of technology in the 20th and 21st century were not present.

As science continues to grow, many of the world's current challenges will also be solved. These challenges are captured in the United Nation's Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs) commission in 2015. For example, SDG13, climate change which the United Nations refers to as the most crucial challenge of our time can be solved using technology that world help us reach net zero. Developing reneqable energy technologies, storage, carbon capture and utilization (CCUS) etc. will put us in the track to net zero by 2050. Also, as research progresses, we will be able to solve current incurable diseases like HIV/AIDS, cancer, hepatitis, high-blood presseure etc. Development in technology can also help us ameliorate food problem, and improvement in technology will result in many other advanmcement in many facets of live.

However, no matter how technology improves, all society's problem cannot be solved. This is especially true for problems caused by human's self-centredness. For example, what technology can solve discrimination, racism, wars, violence, crime, capitalism, bad governance etc. What technology can prevent wars like that happeneing in Ukraine from happening?

Also, human wants, needs and problems evolve. Who would have predicted COVID-19 pandemic? As certain problems are solved some others, mostly unintended are created. For example, are we satisfied our energy needs using fossil fuel, we were heating up our planet and causing climate change.

In conclusion, technology can help solve a lot of society's problems and make human lives better, but cannot solve all society's problem. Having more selfless, understanding and empathetic people in the world will help solve some problems technology cannot solve. But a question we must even ask is, will there every be a time when there will be o problem in society? Will that society be worth living in?