Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The author is of the opinion that work performance and merit should be thee deciding factor in whether one should get promotion and not seniority. I agree with the author's opinion in so far that, one's work should be judged on the quality of the work as well, not simply on the basis of the employee's experience. However, the level of promotion and the employee's experience do matter in the situations where promotion is considered.

Surely, whenever an employee is working assiduously and producing desired results, he/she should be appreciated, as it will keep boosting them and will enhance the productivity. However, it won't be fair of the organization to simply promote everybody who has done efficiently well in their work. So, various other factors need to be taken into consideration, on of which includes the years of service the employee has given to the said organization.

For example, if two people were up for promotion in the organization, and both of them have done really well on their previous given task, then it would be difficult to decide between them. So, the seniority would come into the picture. If one of the two employees has been with the organization for many years more than the other employee, surely he would be given preference based on his history, provided that his track record is up to the mark. However, if one had only the years, and other had the merit, the person with the merit would come out standing.

Admittedly, if seniority is only considered to be the factor in deciding promotion, then many people would argue that there is no point in doing a job well and we simply would have to stay in one company. However, if the person is lacking in giving the desired results, then he won't be with the organization for long( assuming he is fired for not performing well in his job continuously), and so he would have to start from the very beginning again. This whole process could go on, and to no means of an end.

So, I agree that a persons productive output and his merit should be considered when considering the promotion, however we simply cannot ignore seniority as the person becomes a senior in an organization only by staying with the organization by working well within the organization.