Should use of mobile phones be permitted in schools?

Remarkable advancement in the field of science and technology over the past few decades, has made the life of people more comfortable by providing a number of gadgets, machines, equipment. Mobile phone, which has become an integral part of our life, is also a result of that technological development. With effective transmission and distribution network and low cost, cell phone market has grown quite rapidly in last one decade. Mobile are being used by people of all ages; however, one area of concern among parents today is increasing use of mobile by their children especially during their studies or school timings. Some people argue that use of mobile phones, by students in school, should be banned as it is major source of distraction. However, in reality, judicial use of mobile phones should be permitted in schools.

Mobile phones act as one of the important modes of communication among students and teachers; also parents can keep a check of their children well being, while they are at work. Any important piece of information or announcement can be communicated effectively in a short time through use of message service that mobiles provide. Apart from communication, mobile phones are used for a number of other purposes like setting reminders, alarms, keeping and studying e books for quick reference, video lessons. Also mobiles are not unwieldy and can be easily carried in pockets.

Also better and economical internet facilities have made it easier to use mobiles for educational purposes; students can share important information on social networking sites, messenger services like 'whats app', Bluetooth etc. With the burgeoning trend of e classrooms, which make a desktop or a laptop a prerequisite, small and portable smart phones can act as an handy and efficient replacement to the bulky laptops.

But there should not be a wanton use of mobile phones in class rooms, rather its use should be limited only for educational purpose and should be permitted only in presence of a teacher with due permission of the latter. This will help in checking the prodigal activities, which act as source of distraction from studies, of students like chatting, watching movies, listening music, playing games etc.

To conclude, mobile phone, if used judiciously in schools, is a great boon for students and it should be permitted for educational purposes only within the four walls of the class room.