Society should give a sense of cooperation not competition to its youth

Cooperation is an important characteristic of a strong civil society. In order for government, industry, and other institutional leaders to flourish, there needs to be an overarching sense of cooperation amidst disparate interests. With respect to competition, this is, in my view, an almost inevitable feature of society. This is why I agree with the statement that cooperation, not competition, should be instilled in the young people in any society. Here I will explain three reasons why cooperation should take precedence over competition.

Considering my aformentioned claim that competition is an innate facet of society, I mean this particularly due to the fact that we live in a capitalist country and a world wherein capitalist country's are considered some of the most crucial entities in global affairs. With this said, implicit to a capitalistic society is competition -- be it for consumers, market share, sought after occupations, or educational opportunities. Therefore, it is not necessary to instill a sense of competition into young people, because they will be predisposed to compeition by merely living in current society. Instead, it is important to consider how competition makes for conflicting interests. These conflicting interests occur amongst various permutations of industry actors, government leaders, academic researchers, and so on. A practical response to this is to instill cooperation in young people, as to prepare them to efficiently navigate conflict in years to come.

It is commonly argues that innovation is driven by competition. While innovation is important to society, it does not mean that it is exclusive to a competitive society. Beyond my previously stated argument that competition is implicit to the world we live in, it is important to think about how cooperation is not antithetical to innovation. For example, if an industry has the best interest of the consumers in mind, then they would want to produce a product that can most accurately suit their needs. There is always a drive to make a produce less expensive to produce and more efficient, because, in return, the produce can become more accessible to individuals in various parts of the global market. The important factor of today's innovative market is how it is expanding on a global scale. Thus, with competition aside, the market can be driven merely by the sheer number of consumers that need various products.

Finally, an important aspect of cooperation in society is that is has secondary consequences. For example, a country that has a tendency to cooperate amongst its own leaders may be able to promote cooperation on a global scale. This can result in better international affairs when it comes to, for example, creating trade deals that can help alleviate poverty in a developing nation. Addtionally, this can promote peaceful relations, and less violence overall.

The impact of cooperation has effects beyond just a country's people. This is why it is integral for a country to emphasize cooperation, rather than competition.