Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

Some children are born with special talents. And the onus of helping the child discover his talent lies not only on the parents but also his teachers. Hence, it is imperative that schools and homes are designed in a way such that unique abilities in children are discerned at an early stage. Thus, the role of society should be to inform children of their special abilities and provide them with all the necessary equipment and tools which can able them to develop their talent and hone them further.

The advantage of discerning a child’s talent at a primitive stage is immense. The theory that children learn fast at a young age has many advocates, and in fact has been proved by various empirical studies. So, once a special talent in a child has been recognized, he should be provided further training to burnish his skills. The training given at such an early stage will give him a comparative advantage over others. Not only this but also it will enable him to learn and develop his skills quickly. For instance, Rafael Nadal, one of the greatest tennis players of all time, began playing tennis at the age of three. His uncle and coach, Toni Nadal, discovered Rafael’s passion and skill for tennis in Rafael’s early years. This is one of the key reasons why he has gone on to win so many Grand Slams and is popularly known as the “King of Clay”.

Furthermore, the world has become as competitive as ever. It is essential to find your forte. Everyone has got a knack for something. To survive and be known in this world, being average or in fact even good at something doesn’t prove fruitful. In order to succeed in this capitalist society, one must specialise in a field. Additionally, one can only succeed in his or her field and perform to their fullest potential if they have mastered a skill. And we all know the mantra that practice makes perfect. So, the earlier you start, the better it will be for you.

However, bifurcating children into two groups, one with special talents and one without, is a contentious issue. It does create a divide and a sense of feeling amongst the latter of inferiority. This will ruin the overall morale of society. Nonetheless, competition amongst children is good, but it can have deleterious effects as well.

Overall, it is important to help children discover their talents and provide them with all the necessary training, which will equip them to develop their skills further and reach their fullest potential.