In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Art is something that can take various forms and there aren’t any universal criterion or rubric that lays out guidelines on how to judge art. It is purely subjective. Moreover, I strongly repudiate the notion that any work of art, be it a movie, a novel or even a song, to have merit, must appeal to the masses. The subjective nature of it in fact gives artists the latitude to choose their audiences and only pander to them. To support my argument, I lay out the following reasons.

If you consider cinema, there are multifarious genres that a film can dive into, and not all are appreciated by everyone. For example, sci-fi movies generally appeal to the techies and to people with a keen interest in cosmology. However, to infer that since sci-fi films do not cater to the masses and thus proclaim they don’t have merit will be to ignore the prodigious success and fame attained by Star Wars amongst a particular cohort. Furthermore, this argument isn’t confined to cinema.

Many individuals have a personal choice in music which is intrinsic to them. The songs they listen to are quite esoteric and don’t enjoy the same popularity as songs by musical magnates like Drake or Adelle do, which boast of over a million views on YouTube. Moreover, these individuals in fact cherish the arcane nature of their songs and somehow feel more connected to them. By outright avowing that these songs have no merit would be to undermine these individuals and disrespect their personal choices. Having said that, it may be pertinent to develop a scale to judge and compare art.

If popularity was set as the yardstick for merit, then irrefutably these esoteric art forms which don’t appeal to the masses will have no standing. Perhaps, the reason that some art forms enjoy success and fame is because these art forms are genuinely superior to the less popular and less understandable ones. But to completely disregard an individual’s choice and the subjective nature of art would also be wrong.

In conclusion though, I would say art is something that needs to be celebrated and cherished. It is not something that should be judged or compared in the first place. More importantly, to impute merit to art by setting a standard based on its accessibility to the masses would be to hinder thought and restrict artists to create art which is easily comprehensible. Therefore, the notion of claiming that whether art has any merit is flawed in the first place. Further, to play along with the statement above, even if art is judged and attributed merit, it doesn’t necessarily have to cater to a large audience or be elementary in nature so that it can be understood by all.