Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

From the primitive times to the present, many species have gone extinct due to several reasons. Whatever might have caused the change in the number of species that are extinct, there has been human intervention in many cases which indeed endangered the species. However, saving endangered species in an exigent step to be taken for ecological balance while, it doesn’t matter who engendered the extinction. The extinction of species affects humans and the natural balance, if necessary steps are not taken to prevent their extinction.

Firstly, one of the main reasons for such massive increase in the extinction of species is the climatic change that was caused by global warming, deforestation and urbanization. With the burgeon of mankind there has been a tremendous effect on the animals that live in the forests or on the islands. If these animals are not rescued before the situation becomes worse, it would create an imbalance in the nature and affect other animals in the system. For example, in India, white tiger population have decreased to hundred as these animals are been haunted for their skin which is used for different purpose. As a result, the natural chain of these tigers and the animals associated with it would be affected.

Additionally, in some cases the real reason for the extinction of a species might remain a mystery. One might not be able to identify why the population of certain species is dwindling. During these situations, is it correct to sit back and try to figure out whether human intervention is the reason? It is better to take a forward step and rescue the animal from extinction as it is more important to preserve them rather than debating on the cause. Government should indeed initiate programs to save endangered species and ban the use of animal skin for human purpose. One more way to save the endangered species is to prohibit haunting in their territories.

However, millions of years ago, while there was no human intervention, many animals have gone extinct. There were evidences of many animals that lived 60 million years ago and went extinct even before human encroachment. How would one help in such a situation? As these animals have gone extinct way before, scientists have tried to study these animals and possible ways to recreate their DNA. This method however has not helped. One such animal is Dinosaur which lived approximately 65 million years ago and the reason for their extinction is alleged as climatic change, diseases and many more factors. Humans may not bring back these animals to live but, they can instead save the animals that are currently becoming extinct.

In conclusion, as explained above, the society should come forward to rescue the endangered species without the regard of what caused the extinction or decline. This is the only way to protect the animals in our contemporary world to dodge the later disadvantages faced by humans and other animals in our ecosystem