Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Each and every living being present on the planet is of significant importance. Be it human or any other species, being alive is all what we could hope for. In my opinion, efforts should be made in order to protect all species which are in danger, irrespective of its cause.

In the early ages, there were a lot of different species as compared to the current scenario, and this abundance was taken for granted and hunting was considered to be a courageous sport and was very common back then. The implications of it can been seen as many of the species or various breeds of these speices have become extinct. Thankfully, this sport is now not in practice, but still there are several cases reported wherein, animals are harmed and killed by humans. One example of indirectly harming the species is our uncontrolled use of plastics which have been then thrown into the water bodies and many of the marine fishes have consumed it and some of them have died due to chocking. Another reason of their decline is the changes in the climate. The polluted air and water is majorly detrimental to land animals.

We humans are triggered about this issue only when we see statistics and numbers about the decline of various species. I feel that it is important to protect each and every species as they help to maintain an ecological balance. The ecosystem will be hampered rigorously if the species start to extinct. Proper investigation should be done and the cause for this decline should be found out. Accordingly several efforts should be taken and campagins should be promoted. For example, there is a rising risk of the extinction of tigers and hence several countries have taken significant efforts in the form of forest department officials constructing water ponds in forests. Also the animals which are at the risk of extinction have been tagged and monitored by means of GPS technology in order to keep a count and also for their safety reasons.

In conclusion, I feel that each and every species have the right to live and we as humans should take each and every possible effort in order to protect these species irrespective of their cause of depletion. Just like us these species are also living creatures and should be treated with love and affection rather than harming them or killing them. They help to make this world a better place to live in.