Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A successful leader in today's world must be willing to cooperate with others. Every entity , whether it be a corporation or a government is limited by its resources. These resources are distributed unevenly all over the globe giving rise to an interdependency between the different entities. For example , Saudi Arabia has arid lands incapable of supporting agriculture. however it also has some of the highest oil reserves in the world.therefore leaders must be willing to cooperate with their peers for the sake of mutual betterment.

however in this cutthroat and competitive world , a willingness to cooperate is often seen as a sign of weakness to be taken advantage of. Britain's policy of appeasement towards Germany proved to be disastrous in the long run. The Germans perceived it as a sign of weakness and continued annexing territory after territory.

A successful leader must therefore be resolute in his principles, in order to arrive at the negotiating table with a position of strength. he must also , however, be willing to cooperate with his peers to avoid stalemate and carve out a mutually beneficial solution.

therefore , a leader must be competitive to ensure a position of advantage for the entity it represents, but he must also be willing to cooperate with his peers to avoid a deadlock and to be able to usher in progress.