Some people believe that citizens can most benefit their communities by contributing time

and resources to volunteer efforts (e.g., town cleanups, youth sports leagues, food and

clothing drives). Others believe that a community is better served when most of its citizens

engage in the political process necessary to select the community leaders most likely to

establish fair policies and initiate effective programs.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I agree more strongly with the position that communities are better off when citizens devote time and resources to improving the community, rather than just passively electing officials to make improvements for them. A citizen driven community allows for change to be dictated by the values of the community rather than by personal political interest. Furthermore, when citizens make change rather than waiting for politicans to make change for them, they are able to see the progress they want more quickly. Finally, volunteering time and resources within a community enables the citizens of that community to become more connected and attached to the environment they share. Successful communities are driven by individual citizen involvement.

When it comes to the policies and progress within a community, citizens know best. Each individual in a community has specific parts of their environment that they place great value on. Whether it is a local wetland, youth football league, or community college; each individual citizen has a part of the community that is important to him or her. While some may argue that effective community leaders can represent the communities best interests, when it comes to individual values, it's impossible for any government body to fairly represent and accomodate every individual's needs. Therefore, the values of individuals are best promoted through the personal actions of the individual themselves.

Citizen's can often make the changes they want to see in their community more quickly and more effectively then their local government can. Progress on community improvement purposals in government can take a great deal of time, often taking many months or even years to complete even simple community changes such as the addition of a new bike path, or the completion of a LGBTQ+ resource center. While specific laws to protect various interest groups need to be conducted through government offices, major change in communities can often be orchastrated through individual citizens efforts without even involving government decision makers. Furthermore, government projects can often get backlogged or even discontinued, whereas individual efforts only rely on personal efforts put forth by the individual alone.

Finally, the main reason that strong communities are best served by individual effort is because working together towards common values and goals leads to greater community connection and cohesion. Often communites are only able to unite in gripping over their local government's failure to complete various community projects, instead they can become united through community effort and achivement.

Overall communities are better off when effort is citizen rather than government lead. While involvement in political processes is important, that involvement should be lead by community volunteers who want to make their environment a better place. Often politicans are motivated by personal interest and not be community values; therefore, the goals of the community will be better served if public office can be considered a public service by members of the community rather than a position of personal power for the political elite. Strong and healthy communities depend on public service from it's citizens based on their personal community values and goals.