Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a filed of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

“To be employed or to be I interested, that’s a question.” There may be no college student who is free from this question. Most students have difficulty determining whether they should follow their talents and interests or seek for job opportunities. Take, for example, the issue at hand here. What is a priority for students to choose their studies? Talents and interests? I think that following students’ talents and interests is wiser for students. Thus, I agree with the former position.

Of course, job opportunity is very important for students. After graduation, they should make their livings independently and their jobs decide the quality of their lives. When a stable income is guaranteed, they are more likely to enjoy their lives and make a happier family.

However, it is a mistaken idea that following one’s interests and talents means the loss of good job opportunities. Rather, it might be able to help students find good job opportunities. This is because a good job opportunity is a produced by not only characteristics of study but also high grades. For example, if a student majored in a disciples related with AI industry but his grades were very low, it is unlikely to lead to good job opportunities. On the other hand, if a student did not study pragmatic disciples but she had very high grades, it is more likely to lead to good job opportunities. This example shows that students can study what they want to study, not giving their job opportunities.

In addition, college students can draw their future through other ways than acquiring their jobs after graduation. Entering graduate schools also is a way for college students to manage their lives after graduation. A few students make an effort to walk on the road of scholar. Our professors are the representative example of this case. They chose to turn their academic talents and interests into great researches and papers containing many insights which can contribute the development of academia. This example shows that students can make their great lives also by continuously focusing on their studies instead of getting good jobs.

I admit that choosing between pursuing talents and interests and seeking for employment is a very difficult but inevitable challenge. However, I want to say that the benefit of studying what students want to study outweighs the benefits of seeking employments, and it can open the door of new possibility to walk on the road of scholars.