The unknown are necessary.

The term unknown seems to have two meanings. First, some unknown things are the things that we, at the present stage, do not know, but in the future we may be able to know. We do not know whether the Atlantis civilization really existed on Earth, however, advances of our archaeology and exploration instruments will let us find the truth. Second, some unknown things are eternally unknown because they belong to the realm of our existential limitations. Even if science and technology advance to the extreme, we cannot know about fourth dimension world because we are intrinsically third dimension existences. So, the statement "the unknown is necessary" has to be addressed in these two perspectives, and I think that in both perspectives, the unknown are necessary.

In regard to the first meaning, the effort for the advancement of human civilization is analogous to the story of a child trying to grab a rainbow in his hand. Strictly speaking, humans cannot grab a rainbow, however, what I am saying is that like a rainbow which gives a child an objective to grab it in his hand, the existence of the unknown has made human beings eager to establish a heaven-like civilization on Earth. If this child had no rainbow to grab, he would not make his journey. Just like this, if humans did not have the unknown to try to know about, the advancement of human civilization could not make a start.

Regarding the second meaning, unknown things we cannot know make us think about the value of spiritual things. If humans were God-like beings who are not restricted to the unknown, they could not learn the value of humbleness. Rather, because we cannot be omniscient, we can learn the virtue of being humble. Even Issac Newton said, "What we know is a drop, what we don't know is an ocean." If humans were free from death, they could not the miracle of being alive. So, the fact that there are unknown things we cannot know eternally has taught us lots of invaluable spiritual values.

In conclusion, it is my thought that the existence of the unknown has given humans many things. Humans would not have been able to establish present developed civilizations and reach present spiritual maturations without it. Considering it, the unknown are thought to have a great value which cannot be underestimated.