Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Competitiveness affects both ways, it can inspire one to work harder find more time to dedicate to studies and learn deeper or it can pressure one to cut corners, research frequently asked question and prepare only to score higher than fellow classmates. It is true that competition limits profound learning when grades are given more importance. Grades getting more importance have several impact on students cognition.

To begin with, all of us have encountered the form that asks for your previous grades before getting into any educational institution. This circumscribes one's talents, making him believe that getting better scores is the only thing that would differentiate him from the rest. Take for an example, the IITs and NITs of India, these are the top rated government institutions of the country, but getting an admission into them seems a rat race. Only those who can get better marks in entrance exams are provided admissions. One such recent case was of a girl who was reject by an IIT but was accepted by MIT in United States. These highlights the serious flaw which is incorporated in the system which compares students on the basis of their grades or marks.

Moreover, several scholarship programs ask for the grades that you have acquired. Only those with better grades are given importance. Irrespective of financial situations or other circumstances that one may have faced. For an instance, a consistently good performing student might have been debilitated for short period by some accident or incident mentally or physically during the exam time. But his circumstance would never matter as only the grades will be asked.

Additionally, the family and friends who compare their grades and conclude that better scoring student is the smart one or more deserving one, demotivates others, they overlook the fact that different people have different skills and lower grades cannot access their specific skills.

However, having a scale to measure performance is required to distinguish top performers from average ones. But it should be made sure that all conditions that put down a consistent top performer are kept in mind during evaluation. How they have been performing their whole life is more important than a sporadic low score.

Conclusively, everyone is made different with different qualities and skills it is the way of nature. When trying to elect the best one should keep in mind that mere grades do not get used as the sole standard for analogy.