Some people believe that corporations have responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environment in which they operate Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations provided they operate within law is to make as much as p

Working on particular work with a systematic approach will always result in better outcome. In same way, maintaining health should always be considered as priority of oneself. If we stay fit and fine it will eventually result in fresh day, thinking clearly, working enthusiastically, and staying happy. But if don't care for health then it will result in contraction with harmful disease's. The same thing is applied for environment too, keeping environment healthy will eventually give back us cool nature with more benefits. While in the case of law one should strictly follow the nations law and work accordingly else might get convicted for transgression.

Every citizens bear the responsibility of keeping environment healthy and corporations should also take care of the same. If government allows a corporation to extract or mine precious metals or minerals from earth not just to make profits but for the making use of certain naturals resources at less expense. For example, 3M used PFAS chemicals in their solution to stop fires on large scale. But in early 2000's it was not known that the chemical was harmful but after examination of water source in nearby found out harmful and not suitable for drinking. This problem aroused due to 3m's negligence towards aspect of environment and public health. After going through trail in US it faced fine of 10+ billion dollars. It not even lead to loss of wealth but also of environment health too.

Another example is El Nino or Fire in Amazon forest it is not only duty of government to stop it but also of corporations to make sure we live in health and good milieu. It is duty of corporations to solve the problem of El Nino by being smartest on earth which will eventually help in getting earth more cooler and making safe environment for upcoming generations. Saving our upcoming generations life is the important aspect too by saving environment in which we live.

Same things as followed in case of Insider Trading if government finds evidence against higher authorities of corporation will eventually lead to closure of corporation or fine like 3M or even defame of respect world wide. For example, Harshad Mehta was doing insider trading to earn more from stocks by manipulating. He earned a lot but when authorities caught the culprit of market crash lead to fall of whole empire. Some times need to not only follow laws but do respect the environment too.

Responsibility of corporations is not just up to taking care of environment, health of employees or surrounding or following laws but it even more than this aspects. Corporations should understand their responsibility in every factor and help in development of country but also of country along with citizens and employees. It totally more than stated in topic I eventually disagree with both the points.