Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

In a free economy such as the United States’s, corporations play an influential role in shaping the societies and communities they operate it whether they want to admit it or not. Because so, I align more closely with the view that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the communities they operate in.

Corporations have a responsibility to serve the societies because society memebers play the utmost important role in generating revenue for corporations. To illustrate this point, I will use the rise of Google, a tech giant that has become a hot topic lately by the media, as my case study. Google started out as a search engine back in the early days of the dot com bubble. It has seen tremendous growth since then thanks to its popularity among Internet users. Thanks to its popularity as a search engine, Google was able to captilize on paid advertisements to make a profit and thus developed into the large company that it is today. This growth would have been impossible without Google’s user base. We know this by looking at Yahoo, another rival search engine of Google, that did not have a strong userbase and has been slowly declining in values over the years. Therefore, Google’s success can be almost solely attribute to the communities they operate in. This real life example proves that without the society’s support, corporations would not be able to thrive. Therefore, they should give back to the communities that has contribute to their success.

On the other hand, I realize that corporations also have other priorities on their mind, like keeping their stakeholders happy. In addition, money is an important resource for a company to grow or sustain its current level of operation. Thus, it is within the fundemental nature of corporations to maximize their profits and please their investors. However, coporations need to be able to keep their customers in order to have revenue. In order to do that, they need to display a good image of themselves around the communities, and the best way to accomplish this would be, unsuprisingly, to help and promote the wellness of their surround communities. Therefore, I do not see how maximizing profit would have affect on any corporation’s ability to ensure wellness in societies they operate in. As a matter of fact, these two viewpoints, while radically different in nature, do not conflict with each other. Any company have the ability to please both investors and its customers simutaneously, and ultimately, there is no reason why they have to pick one over the other.

For these reasons above, I believe that coporations should promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.