A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is an important part of growing up. A critical recommendation such as this has great effect on the nation's citizen life and thus requires a detailed analysis of all the pros and cons. In most circumstance, I agree with the recommendation except in a special case where some students do not plan to enroll in college after highschool.

Having all students study from the same cirriculum has serveral benefits. The educational department would only need to derive a single cirriculum for the whole nation's student body. This makes it convenient to implement changes to the cirrculum if need be. For example, if on average, high school students are doing poorly in math, the department can add more math courses into next year's cirrculum. Every highschool in the nation would just need to implement this proposed change for next year. However, when each highschool has a unique cirriculum tailored to their own, implementing such a change introduce problems. Some highschools might already have a lot of math classes in their cirrculum, and thus making the proposed new change obsolete. In addition, since each school have to consider how applicable the national guideline is to their cirriculum, it might take more time for a decision to be made. Consequently, the change would be rolled out later than desired.

Another benefit would be that setting up a national cirriculum allows for better consistency in the students' education quality. All students would learn the same material and perform more similarly on standardized tests. Thus, this will ensure education equality.

However, there is a drawback in this recommendation, as it doesn't serve all students equally. Students who wish to enroll in college after highschool will be likely to benefit more than students who plan to enter the workforce after high school. For example, consider a student who wants to be a baker. The class period used to take a manadatory algebra course instead of a baking class would not serve this student's professional future. Meanwhile, another student who is studying for the SAT would benefit greatly from the knowlege he learned in that mandatory class. By switching the required course to be a baking course instead of algebra, one can see how now the college-bound student becomes disadvantaged. As this example above proved, some students are inevitably ought to benefit more by a national cirrculum than others, regardless of which cirriculum is put in place.

For these reasons above, I think the recommendation is quite reasonable and would be approporiate in most cases but not all.