Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Promotion of socio-economic growth and being a part of their development is a choice taken by individuals and corporations. Though highly encouraged that they consider it as their responsibility to contribute a little proportion of their profits, those who do not do so, can not be deemed completely wrong.

Corporations here refers to large organizations whose main aim is to run a successful business and make money, until and unless the corporation is a full-time NGO targeting only at a specific community and environmental needs.

The appropriate and adequate utilization of the profits earned is solely in the hands of these corporations and their governing philosophy.

Many of them have special dedicated departments called CSR i.e. "Corporate Social Responsibility" where they target specific segments and areas of the environment or society to which they wish to contribute and help them improve. Child education, rural development, green plantation drives can be a few of them. Then, there are cases of some philanthropists, the most notable being Mr. Bill Gates, founder of Microsoft, who donated his majority of wealth earned to the charity. Thus, the path that a corporation takes to service and promote the well-being of society and environment is totally dependent on the decisions and the governing philosophy of them.

There are yet many of them, which do not wish to contribute to the social growth and are governed by the mere principle of making business and earning more and more profits. Since, the very fact that how are the profits earned being utilized is at the sole discretion of the corporation itself, therefore they not supporting or being a part of the socio-economic development can not be termed as irresponsible or not fulfilling their responsibility. Though, it is highly suggested and encouraged that they should be a part of such noble causes.

Thus, to conclude we can restate the well-known fact that nobody is right or wrong, everyone is right in their own way. Therefore, though highly encouraged by the corporations to promote the well-being of the society and respecting and highlighting those already doing so, commenting on those which mainly earns profits so as to seek prosperity only for themselves by believing that that is their main responsibility will not be entirely correct.