Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

The 21st century can be indeed termed as the era of technology. Almost all the tasks of humans including their basic necessary requirements are now dependent on technology, either directly or indirectly. I completely agree for most of the part that the advancement in technology and its adoption in the today's world has indeed simplified our life in a way we could have never imagined.

People now have the ability to communicate face to face real time even with the people in different continents. With the development of video calling, complex tasks such as corporate meetings, medical emergencies, imparting of education, all are now made possible which could not be thought of in the past.

Accurate navigation systems in almost every part of the globe wherever you travel, connected applications, now helps the travelers feel secure and aware of their surroundings in an alienated place. The biggest technological advancement this era is witnessing is the development of Internet of Things, wherein every device which the person now interacts with and uses will be smart enough to proactively help the person and predict many of his/her actions based upon the usage statistics. Thanks, to IoT a person can now assure security for his family by smart security systems, and can be aware of their well being in real time, even when he is not around.

With Big Data in picture, we now have access to an ocean of knowledge gathered just by analyzing the previous historical data. Health care can now diagnose the diseases based on the genes of a person, and can warn a person before hand about illness that can affect him/her, based upon the regular health care monitoring done for him.

Technology therefore has indeed simplified and radically improved our lives, in a way we could have never thought of or imagined. Yes, even the fact that it does makes things complicated for a normal user is also agreeable to certain extent. That is primarily because of two reasons. One, anything that is new, is difficult to adapt so easily, and faces some inertia. Second, with technology and its various components available to solve or decrease almost every problem that a person faces, the decision of how much adoption of technology we want in our lives, what all areas we would like it to be a part of and govern, and what level of dependency we aspire for on the technology is totally subjective and varies from person to person.

Thus, depending and relying on different technologies much more than what is really needed, will indeed make your life overly complex and complicated with many of the features that that technology will provide not even useful. But, using it wisely to help and improve some constant challenges that you are facing, carefully examining the areas in which appropriate adoption is required and how it will work out in your scenario, will go a long way in not only making your life a lot more simpler, but also, a lot more better and productive, thereby helping you achieve a more happier and accomplished life.