Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Whether the arts should or should not be governmentally funded is indeed a difficult conundrum, because there are important reasons both for and against this idea. Overall, however, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and a country benefits greatly when its government supports the arts financially.

Critics of governmental funding of the arts often claim that it is impossible to support all types of arts in an evenhanded and objective way. There is a large variety of different types of arts and while some jump to mind immediately, others are more subtle. Painting or photography, for example, might be something one immediately thinks of. Dancing or performances are also forms of arts, however, and it would be problematic if they would be supported less simply because they are not as stereotypical examples of “the arts” as the former.

That governmental funding of the arts would be subjective and biased against certain art forms is one potential problem. In addition, however, it can also be very difficult to decide which specific artists, museums, or art projects should be funded and which should not. “The arts” are inherently subjective, there are no or few objective criteria based on which one could decide whether a certain artist or piece of art is better or worse than another. In sum, since governments can usually only dedicate a limited amount of their household to funding the arts, it is a very demanding task to come up with criteria that allow a decision about where this money should go.

That being said, however, I think that it is difficult, but by no means impossible to come up with a good funding concept. I am convinced that if certain maxims are taken into account, a society can truly benefit from its government investing into the arts. For example, it seems important to me to allocate the available money in such a way that a broad part of the society can benefit from it. Instead of funding a certain artist, for instance, the government could create a yearly stipend which can be won in a national competition. If a jury composed of people from different backgrounds decided who gets the price each year, all artists would have equal opportunities in receiving support.

In addition, I think that a government should try to attract a broad part of the society to the arts. While deciding whether a certain piece of art is “good” or “bad” is certainly a subjective endeavor, creating ample opportunities for people from different backgrounds to engage with and learn about the arts is more objectively important and beneficial. In order to achieve this, a government could, for example, fund museums so that people do not have to pay for entrance tickets and those who do not have a lot of money can go to the museum without having to think about whether they can afford it or not.

In summary, I think that there are certainly good reasons to worry that governmental funding of the arts could threaten its integrity because it is not easy to come up with a fair and unbiased strategy on how to allocate the funding. I do by no means believe, however, that a government should take this as an excuse not to support the arts at all. Instead, it is a government’s obligation to carefully deliberate about strategies and concepts that allow them to support the arts without prioritizing some art forms and neglecting others. I am convinced that in that way, a government will foster not only the arts, but also the society as a whole.