Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The government officials are recruited to serve the people of the nation. They have to carry out the tasks that can bring long term benefits to the community. There is an ongoing debate about the roles of the officials. According to the prompt, this debate is polarized into two distinguished opinions: one group claim that while serving for the people, they ought to preserve the will of the people, whereas other argue that it should be based on their own intrinsic and judgement. In my opinion, I think that government officials have to keep in mind the requirements of the lay people, nonetheless, their own judgements should also be reflected in their decisions. I will explain my position with three specific reasons.

First of all, the administrative persons are nominated by the vote of the country people. They cast vote for them to get their rights properly. If the selected officials start neglecting peoples' requirements, it will create a negative impression among the citizens. Eventually, they may start riots and chaos in the society. For example, when the Myanmar president Su-chi was selected by the people, they hoped that she would serve their rights at the first place. Later they discovered that, they were repudiated in my ways including suffrage or establishing an egalitarian society. Consequently, they started protest against her and at the end Su-chi had to go to jail for abolishing the rights of the country people. This incident clearly demonstrates that if the needs of the people are not prioritized at the first place, the stability and sovereignty of the nation will be altered. Therefore, to make a country free from violence as well as perturbations and embrace peace, the officials must serve the necessities of the general mass.

Furthermore, decisions based on judgement may induce biasness and partiality. Whenever an administrative person gets the opportunity to make a decision based on his own verdict, he might favor the actions that bolster his positions such as economic development or positional improvements. For example, recent studies have demonstrated the drawbacks of bureaucratic societies where the bureaucrats can make and change the own laws based on their needs. Since they are authorized to make decisions as their own, they often use it for their own accomplishments and let the general people suffer. In this connection, it can be stated that personal judgement should never second the greater will of the nation.

Nonetheless, it can't be denied the self-appraisal before making a decision even if it is for the purpose of the nation. Since, many of the requirements by the denizen are not well suited or vague, it is certainly the responsibility of the government people to assess them first. For example, the people of China once wanted to attempt Nuclear weapon attack to India to get back the border area between China and India. However, the Chinese government didn't make this happen and wisely handled the matter. Hence, it can be affirmed that, will of the people can be served but after critically evaluating them.

To summarize, although many people prefer one stance over another as the prompt highlighted, I personally feel that the government officials should make them complementary instead of selecting one over another. That means, will of the people are exhorted to serve with the help of critical judgement by the hired administrative personnel.