Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Many people argue that the inhabitants of the most developed nations should take seriously into account the problem of the global climate change by changing their lifestyle in order to provide benefits to our planet's health. On the other side of the argument, many people believe that the alarmism is too high and that such drastic change will be impossible to put into actions. At a first glance, I tend to mostly agree with the former view but, analyzing more deeply the scope of the argument also the opinion of the latter should be taken into consideration.

In the latest time, we have heard more and more evidence about the climate change and how it is affecting the health of the planet and many campaign of awareness has been done. We all know that the argument is clearly supported by many scientific research and that we have the need to do something in order to improve the situation. However, just few serious measures have been take by the governments to limit this situation and they are not enough to stop the negative trend. For this reason, especially in the most industrialized countries, more strict laws have to be made by the governments, and some practical suggestions have to be divulgated to raise awareness the citizens to a correct and eco-friendly behaviour.

On the other side of the argument, imposing laws that would change the everyday life dramatically would be just a waste of time. As a matter of fact, it is impossible to ask people to leave the benefits gained from industrialization aside. Suppose for example that the government impose a law which asks citizens to stop using the washing machine in order to cut down the CO2 emission. Of course nobody would be caring about it and many critics will spread out because everybody does not want to lose the benefits in terms of time-consuming and difficulty of the labor of the automatic washing. All this is to say that, even if there is a clear need to create some new restrictions, this ones must be reasonable in order to be respected by everybody and to provide real benefit to the environment.

In conclusion, it is even more clear that something has to be done in order to avoid the deterioration of our planet, but we have to find the right way to gain the results wanted. We have to act on both law and awareness side, in order not only to introduce some rules that must be respect, but also to make people understand how their individual behaviour and their small actions are able to change the overall mindset. Therefore, the laws that will be made must be well-reasoned in order to, on one side, reduce the energy consumption while boosting the more sustainable ones and, on the other side, avoid a sharp change in people's lifestyle, that would be compromising the success of the policy implementation.