Some people believe it is often necessary even desirable for political leaders to withhold information from the public Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed

In a democratic society, political leaders are elected from us electorates. It is necessary to inform most of the information which may directly affects citizen. Without making it public, how can we assure the rights of the people? The statement whether the policies should be withheld from the public is discussed as followed.

Apparently, it is true that protecting information from people is a good way of avoiding unnecessary doubts which may cause considerable disquiet between citizens. For example, the regime in China has always been in a steady position, for none of their people would ever be skeptical of whatever policy the government makes. The citizens have full faith in their government, hence there are seldom riots raised in the society.

However, this would not always be the exception. As long as the policy they withhold affects the people’s rights, sitting and waiting for a good outcome would not be their choice. Instead of expecting the government to guarantee their benefit, citizens would rather standup and protect themselves. For instance, the pandemic disease, coronavirus, which flood around the world is the result of withholding information from the public, and consequently lead to an irremediable situation.

Another point is that some might propose sealing information a way of protecting the country itself. Once a confidential information is leaked, the country then turns into an emergency state. Nevertheless, if only the discloser of the tidings would not endanger the security of the nation, in my opinion, the information should still be revealed. Only through knowing them can we protect our rights from being invaded.

The security of each country should be placed in first with no doubt. Yet, the right of every citizen is also what we should never overlook. We have the ruling authority to better our lives, not to ruin our future. Hence, I hold that the public has the right to be informed appropriately.