Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principles for the sake of compromise.

Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

To some extent, I agree with the author’s opinion. However, the author extends the opinion to an extreme, which can not be reversed while overlooking other compelling factors that are likely to affect the issue. On balance, my point of view and deep analysis are as follows.

In a sense, I would admit this assertion that leaders should commit to their principles and objectives. Although the assertion has some obvious mistakes, it has some advantages when applied to the description of specific cases, which is incontrovertible because the cases are rational in the context of our daily experience. The principles and objectives of the leaders are to realize their social responsibilities. When leaders stick to their principles, it is to the benefit of solving social problems. For example, people have always been divided on gender equality. Most people firmly believe that men and women are not equal, but others do not. Although most people want to influence leaders’ opinions that men and women are not equal, leaders should persist in their principles. Only if they stick to their principles, they can work together to resolve the dispute, like the enactment of laws requiring equality between men and women, and promote the development of society. Thus, it is improper for leaders to yield to the public. They need to keep their commitment to their principles.

For society, leaders commit to their principles that can promote the development of society and earn the trust of the public. It is during the epidemic time that leaders stick to their principles and prompt the organization of medical rescue operations. The order of stopping work, stopping production and people not going out without necessity were quickly issued. Although many people think it is not apposite to let them stay at home, the dangers of the epidemic prove it right. Leaders make the right decisions in a short time and stick to their principles will earn the trust of the public. And the public will coordinate leaders’ work next time.

Leaders need to stick to their principles, but they also need to listen to some public opinions. Because one of the responsibilities of the leader is to serve the public, they need to adopt properly the public’s opinion to understand what they need.

In conclusion, the issue of whether leaders need to commit to their principles or adopt the public’s opinion is a complex one, requiring subjective judgment. Consequently, there are no easy or certain answers. So different are the personal experiences and emotional concerns among people with a diverse culture that a thousand individuals might hold a thousand opinions. According to me, I think leaders should commit to their principles.