Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principles for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The most important characteristic of an effective leader is having a consistent thought process. Is it possible for the nation to progress with a leader who is easily influenced by trending public opinion? The answer to this question would be a definite "No". Admittedly, a leader should be open to listen to public opinion in certain situations. However, it is essential for a leader to be firmly committed to the basic principles and values that are required for the nation's development.

Consistent thinking, the ability to make rational decisions, and confidence in one's own decisions are vital to lead a nation, an organization, or any group for that matter. Mahatma Gandhi is a great example of this. In his civil disobedience war against British rule, he was firmly committed to the idea of non-violence. Many people across India, including some of his followers, had doubts about following non-violence at times of some tragic incidents. Nonetheless, Mahatma Gandhi believed in his decisions and was able to free India from 2 decades-long British rule.

Another example where a leader should not be influenced by public opinion is a war against an enemy country. For instance, a number of people would be in favor of war against an enemy country as a response to terrorism. Is it a wise choice for a leader to go to war at such times? War is not an option here, especially when it is obvious that it will lead to devastating effects on the economy of the country. Any prudent leader would go for diplomatic solutions in such scenarios.

However, there are situations where a leader should be flexible enough to make a compromise in following his principles. Consider a leader who is dedicated to stop drug trafficking in the country. One such example is Rodrigo Duterte's drug war in the Philippines. More than 6201 people have been killed by police in anti-drug operations between 2016 and 2021, many of these were street-level dealers forced to do such work because of the lack of opportunities. The primary reason for this is full permission by the government to kill anybody suspected to be involved in drug trafficking. A leader needs to listen to public opinion in such cases. Another example can be same-sex marriages. Though a leader may have traditional beliefs, he should be flexible enough to accept the facts of modern times.

In the view above, a leader needs to take dedicated decisions toward his goals according to his beliefs and principles. At the same time, it is also important to consider the issues where public opinion plays a very important role. A flexible approach will be the best choice for a leader to achieve his goals of the development of the nation, and society as a whole.