Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Through the long history, scientific discoveries have always been an important approach for humans to explore the world we are living in. Under such circumstances, some people hold the opinion that through the exploration, we acquire a better understanding of this universe, which, without doubt, coexists with another viewpoint that science has actually added to the complexity of this mysterious world. From my perspective, both arguments are justified to some extent. Specifically, science does play a crucial role in shedding light on the world, while it is also able to unveil how complex and complicated as it is. In this process, however, it is our cognition rather than the relatively static world that has changed.

To begin with, scientists at all times assume the responsibility to explore the uncharted fields in order to achieve a more complete grasp of the world. As scientific researches progress, people actively interact with the surrounding world, observe and extract hidden patterns, and formalize with abstract definitions and symbols. Let's take physics, a fundamental and pragmatic subject in a variety of fields, as an example. In pursuit of decoding the secrets behind motions of everything: from a dropping apple from the tree to giant planets orbiting in the universe, sensitive physicists capture some common rules behind the motion despite the mass or shape of an object. Through sedulous observations and experiments, they collect and analyze data and further make various equations to fit and explain the ostensible magical phenomena. Luckily, they managed to create a self-consistent system, at least for macro-scope objects. Thanks to Newton's laws of motion, myriads of problems were solved, and different phenomenons became explainable to humans, such as the essence of gravity that pulls us to the ground. In this regard, people manage to decipher, at least some part of, the world that used to elude us.

On the other hand, familiar with the old simile of the procedure of acquiring knowledge and a circle with increasing radius, people are awed with humbleness and impotence by a sea of the unknown in spite of our significant scientific progress, which seems a little counterintuitive and contradictory. Using the example from mathematicians, whether there is an equivalence between N and NP has been a hot and abiding debate for decades even though they have built a rigorous system of complexity with prominent achievements. Similarly, new conundrums emerge as old problems are solved in almost every field. Therefore, increasingly challenging obstacles present themselves one after another, creating an image that the world becomes even more and complex and elusive.

With the discussion above, I have to clarify that the relevance of more mysteries coexists, rather than contradict, the conquered part of the world by science. In fact, the complexity is an intrinsic attribute of the world, which hardly changes as we improve our understanding of an object. Admitting the above argument, some people might get into a panic, worrying that no matter how laboriously we try to exhaust the answer to the world, it just ruthlessly provides more problems and puzzles for us. Such an argument is hardly credible for me, since we cannot ignore the fact that an amounting part of the world is revealed to us, which is beneficial for our living despite the unknown.

To sum up, science as an effective tool enables people to light up the mysterious world as well as giving hints about its intrinsic complexity, while we should not be discouraged by this fact. Rather, the obstacles are incentive and challenging for us to go deeper for more.