Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

From the inception of human civilization to the present time, mankind has developed itself through some profound scientific breakthroughs. Though these discoveries helped us to understand the world and sometimes help to extrapolate many future events, in fact, these discoveries are presenting us that the world, we know, is something beyond our usual knowledge and it is complex in nature.

There is no doubt that intense research by scientists around the world has done no less to understand the world. For example, now we all know the cause of rain and how precipitation occurs, and this process seems so simple that even a level 3 student can describe the event. Similarly, it is now very clear that the moon is responsible for high tide and ebb tide in the coastal regions and based on the scientific data general people can determine the exact time of tides. Ostensibly, the capability of knowing the reasons behind some specific natural phenomena and the ability to prognosticate about one or two future events may provoke us to say that we are now understanding the world much better than before. However, till now, what we have known is very infinitesimal and insufficient to say that we have a proper understanding of this universe.

For example, while the discovery of gravity and subsequent inventions related to space provided humankind with the achievement of travelling to the moon, at the same time it introduced the people to the intricate nature of the world. For instance, the obstacles astronauts faced penetrating the world atmosphere only indicate the complexity of this earth. To the unaided eye, the sky seems very clear and empty space, but in fact, the whole atmosphere is made of the different lairs of gas and every lair acts differently in terms of density, temperature, pressure etc. This knowledge about the seemingly empty space surrounding the earth is obviously a scientific discovery and it helped us to understand the earth at the same time it strongly proved that the earth is very complex, the thing we often misunderstand.

An even more compelling example can be the way by which trees are surviving; photosynthesis. The trees around us are self-depended and they make and process their food by themselves. The method of taking necessary nutrients for thriving trees using the heat of the sun is called photosynthesis. They actually use the sunlight to make their food in the cell of their leaves. However, at night they use a different method and they also grasp minerals from the soil through their roots. These processes are simple enough to describe rather than replicate by scientists in the laboratory because of their intricacy. Similarly, many discoveries about bacteria, viruses, and disease are only depicting us that we are just uncovering a complex book not knowing where it ends.

To sum up, many discoveries are there which enable us to understand the world but those are not enough and those actually portray to us that the seemingly simple world is something very complex.