Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Morals and virtues play a crucial role towards building a morally sound society. In my opinion, morals are ingrained deeply in our core values. Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education whereas others believe that logical thinking would help, rather greatly towards producing a moral society. I agree with the latter since, a kid should develop the skill towards discerning what is the logic behind and act to conclude if it is a moral act or no. I will elaborate further on my position in the paragraphs below.

As mentioned in the above paragraph, a child should be able to logically interpret a situation and the events that have led up to it. For example, protests are seen as a morally aggressive decision by the masses to portray their resentment towards various acts of a government. As a result, a student, who's taught morality will condemn such an act without logically discerning the events that have led to such an act. On the contrary, if the government was indeed guilty of malpractices, an act of protest against the government is a morally sound approach as well as a logical one. I would say that morality of an act is determined by the logical reasoning behind it.

Often times have we come across cultural taboo's that refrain an individual from performing an act or indulging into a pastime. Such shortcomings occur since moral principles dissuades a person to do so. For example, the research on gene-engineering has been condemned by many as an immoral act which involves individuals playing with aspects of life that should not be altered or mended according to one's needs. These morals shroud a person's thinking and obscures their vision. If we look at gene-engineering logically, it could be the way towards creating several procedures that could cure life-threatening diseases.

Moreover, a person teaching moral principles at school level can have his or her own prejudices towards particular moral beliefs. As a result, kids will gain partial knowledge about what is right and what is wrong. Perhaps, it would be a sound approach to teach the kids, basics of logical thinking and reasoning. As a result, these kids would be able to decide for themselves, what is morally wrong or right.

In sum, I am a strong supporter of the statement that logical thinking would help, rather greatly towards producing a moral society. Morals can often obscure a person's thinking capacity and make him have a predilection towards a morally right situation even if it is logically completely wrong and condemnable.