Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

The education system of a society shapes its youngsters to be better citizens of tomorrow. The view that morality should be the foundation of an education system resonates with me and I would discuss the reasons which shape my view. Also, I would elaborate about how considering both teaching morality and logical reasoning, as cornerstone of education system would make the students better equipped to positively contribute towards the society.

A person is defined by the principles he holds and lives by. Instilling moral virtues in young students would go a long way in assisting them in overcoming complex situations, which cannot be tackled by relying solely on logical reasoning. There may be a few crucial decisions which may seem logically warranted yet would not be justifiable on moral grounds. For instance, a country may consider deployment of nuclear weaponry on civilians of another country as logical during wartime, but one should eschew from such a situation on moral grounds.

Holding one's moral grounds even in trying circumstances demands a lot of courage and is often the least treaded path. However, such principled individuals are the ones who can ameliorate a society. I acknowledge the importance of logical reasoning in our lives and do believe that it is an utmost important trait to succeed while making decisions in a business or for formulating strategy for the future of a nation. However, considering the golden words of Mahatma Gandhi, I am also of the opinion that means should justify the ends and one should consider whether a decision is morally correct or not, apart from being logically correct.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate the importance of morality in our society for its improvement. Further, I believe that we should strive to strike a balance between morality and logical reasoning in our lives.