Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

While I believe that the world is getting smarter with the advance of technology, there are some demerits that come intrinsically with this growth. There seems to be a burgeoning of dehumanisation and detachment of emotions among the current generation. This might be considered advantageous as it enables a person to not get fixated on one thing but it also results in a decline in human values, decent courtesy and basic qualities of moral and ethical refinement in humans. Therefore in today's world it is of utmost importance that teaching morality should be prioritised over logical reasoning, as the foundation of education.

Morality is something that seems to be sorely lacking in the current generation. I do not mean to say that the people always have evil intentions but the detachment of the people with their roots is startling. People are growing to be more ungrateful than ever - ungrateful of their parents, teachers or anyone who helps them. The only time they seem to care about their well wishers is when they need more help from them. It is this kind of behaviour that leads to a breakdown in human values and leads to a society that forgets about its very foundation and reason of its being. This results in a feeling of disillusionment because of which many people are unsure of why they are doing something, are unsure of themselves and always feel the need to decry about their conditions and upbringing.

We need our education system to focus on morality so that people can learn to acknowledge the various elements in their lives. This will help them broaden their perspective and not always act in a selfish manner. This will make them more self-aware of themselves and the things around them. A self-aware person is in control of his actions and is in a better position to logically reason out the decisions in his life. He will be able to keep himself going in difficult circumstances because he will have the composure and perspective to weigh the impact of his actions.

Logical reasoning is very important but in order to develop a more logical society, we need to make sure that all the constituent elements of this society are mentally prepared to think and act in a logical manner. It is said that man is a rational animal - he will act in such a way that is always beneficial to him, but in doing so in today's world, he seems to overlook this rationality or sticks too closely for his own downfall. A focus on logical reasoning as the basis of the education will have a tendency to further dissemble this emotionally void society, a society that will be devoid of art and expression. Such a society will tend to create logically sound individuals who are not ready to deal with the harsh realities of life.

I would like to underscore the importance of both logical reasoning and morality in an individual's life. Morality helps the individual to acknowledge the various people in his life and keep him grounded while logical reasoning helps an individual to be decisive and factor out the implications of his actions on the various spheres of his life. To conclude, I would like to recapitulate that having a strong moral character enables a person to retain his temperament and intelligence in trying circumstances, which in turn places him in a better position to take a logical decision.