A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The conclusion of the argument seems to be based on a lot of presumptions. I have stated some of the possible scenarios in which the company's conclusion does not seem to be justified.

It might have been the case that the sample size of the testing was not big enough and during the investigation, they only picked out the right food packets by pure serendipity, in which case the results of the investigation become void by default.

While the chemicals on their own might have been approved for use in pet food, it might be possible that some of those chemicals are not advisable to use in combination with other chemicals. Moreover there might be restrictions on the concentration of some of the chemicals. In both these cases, the conclusions seems to fail and the recalled food would have been responsible for adverse effects on the animals.

Another scenario might be that although all the chemicals were safe and in benign concentration, they do not necessarily have a correct balance of minerals and vitamins required by the pet animal. We all know that a balanced diet is very essential for well-being of a person. A diet which is deficient in even one of the vitamins or mineral is likely to cause some kind of malady or ill-effect of that individual. As it is stated that animals were lethargic, the food might be short in energy providing compounds such as fats or carbohydrates. It might also be possible that the food was manufactured keeping in mind the certain breed of a pet but it might not be suitable for the other breeds. In this case, the company needs to conduct more rigorous tests of the retracted food.

Even if the food had a balance of nutrients and chemicals in correct concentrations, the preservatives in the food might not be adequate to make sure that the food can maintain its taste and concentrations after a long time. It might also be the case that some of the chemicals were difficult to digest for some of the animals or a breed of it, because of which they were unable to harness the nutrients in the food. In this case as well, the company needs to perform a more thorough research on the food and make sure that most of the breeds if not all of them, should be able to digest the food properly.

The food might not be agnostic to different environmental and geographic conditions and might be only suited to a particula