Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is argued in the statement that the primary goal of politics should be reaching an acceptable consensus between different groups. Since each of these groups has their own forces, interest, and pursuits, to further human’s development, it is the politics that should find common ground to unite the whole society. Indeed, it is an important part of politics, but pursuing the ideal is also vital for the whole civilization. In my mind, I believe that these two are not mutually exclusive, and all together make up the politics.

Whether capitalism or communism, they both share the same ultimate goal- to create a free and satisfying world and bring benefits to everyone, at least for their theories. No denying that the politicians should focus on this idealist pursues, the utopia. They have their knowledge, expertise, and experiences that can help society become better. Their efforts and these advantages can help them better depict a blueprint and envision the future for all the society, including those different interest groups. However, with their personal interests and cares, they may sometimes focus on only myopic benefits and become temporarily blind. Other politicians’ idealistic pursuits can then remind them of the long term benefits and help them find their positions. The communism, with their ultimate goals and advertising tools, gather hundreds of and thousands of labor workers’ forces to form a new country in the Soviet Union and China.

However, this centralized pursuits of an ideal, can lead to monopoly and tyranny. When they have the power and people, they may mix their own ambitions with the ultimate goals, if not replacing it at all. This definitely is inconsistent with the whole people’s need and can lead the whole country to destruction even inhuman. Thus, achieving common ground and reaching reasonable consensus is an important tool of controlling the politician’s force. On the other hand, according to the Contrast Social of J. J. Rousseau, politicians are representatives of those different interest groups. People select those politicians in the sacrifice of their own power and right to exchange for future benefits. This compromising is achieving social unity and stability, which bring paybacks to the whole nation.

In my mind, I believe that ideal and consensus is actually not paradoxical. The ideal is theoretical and has its own problems when putting into practice. It is where we need consensus to discuss how to move on in details. Social stability is the ground for the realization of an ideal. The Soviet Union is a great example of this, they do have a grand ideal in the beginning, achieve some feats, and influence many generations. But the leading class failed to reach consensus in different groups and when the ideal is forgotten or replaced by personal interests, those people start moving toward their own direction, causing the whole nation’s dissolution. Moreover, the ideal can play the bellwether’s role, finding our future path and leading us to the utopia.

Thus, the ideal and social consensus are all important parts of politics.